welbornlife.blogspot.com

Wednesday, April 28, 2010

How long has it been since you have ridden a carousel?




So on a rainy Sat. we were trying to figure out something fun to do with Olivia, and we decided to try out the carousel at the Mall of Ga. She loved it! I hadn't been on one in forever - I seriously cannot remember the last time I rode on one. It made me pretty dizzy, but you know, whatever keeps the kiddo happy, we'll do.

Thursday, April 15, 2010

"What happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas, except Herpes"

Todd and I ventured to Las Vegas for Spring Break 2010. We have been planning to go for a while now and I could not wait! I was nervous to leave Olivia. I knew she would be fine with my parents, but I still worried (what mom doesn't, right?).

We had an absolute blast! Todd told them it was our anniversary (technically it was, in December) so our room got upgraded. It was beautiful! We had an awesome view from the 33rd floor in the Augustus Tower at Ceasar's.

I didn't really think I would enjoy gambline (maybe slots, but not gambline) but was I wrong! I loved playing Craps once I learned how. One morning we were just walking around all the hotels and casinos, kind of looking around and scoping it out, and we were at the Bellagio. We decided to stop on our way out and play a round of Craps. I was on fire! I rolled and rolled and rolled and did great! The dealer said I rolled 15 5's (which meant nothing to me at the time) but later I learned that 5's are hard to roll - had we bet a little more each time I rolled a 5 we would have walked away with $14,000! We told him thanks but we would have appreciated that info. WHILE we were playing, not after the fact! We walked about up about $400-$500 so we were thrilled with that! Later that night we were playing at a table where a woman was on fire (not me) and we walked away with more again! It is complete luck, I realize, but it sure was fun when I was lucky!

We ate great and way too much - too many buffets in Vegas (good buffets, not like Ryan's) and we took advantage probably too many times! We walked a ton and ate a ton, and it was so worth all of it! We couldn't wait to get home to Olivia. She seemed quite confused, but really excited to see us!

The next day, Olivia decided it was time to crawl out of her crib...we put her down for her nap and the next thing we know we heard her RIGHT by her door! Sure enough, she crawled right out, and even showed us how when we asked her! So it was time to transition to a toddler bed (her crib turns into a toddler bed)....normally I would have waited, but the fact that she was able to climb out time and time again, and knew exactly what she was doing, we weren't willing to risk her breaking her neck during the night. She has done great so far, minus a few during the night wake ups and early morning rises.

I love being home with her and am in no hurry to travel again without her! I am so ready for summer and spend time with my girl! (Pictures will come soon - I don't have them on my laptop)

Friday, April 2, 2010

I-N-G.....Y-E-S!





Never ever did I think I would run a half marathon, but I did! It did it in 2 hours and 31 mins. My goal was to finish, and still be breathing! I toyed with the idea of running one toward the end of last year, and then my oh so thoughtful husband decided to sign me up and put the registration papers in my stocking - so kind of him! I knew training would be difficult, seeing as Olivia is at the stage where she would rather "run" the "stroll" (in the stroller that is!) but somehow we managed.

I am one of those girls (don't lie, you know you are too!) that doesn't even like to go to the restroom alone, let alone run for 2 and a 1/2 hours alone. During my training for this race I had a lot of alone time - and I have to be honest, I loved it! Any mom out there knows that we get very little time to ourselves. Any time I have to myself usually consists of laundry, cleaning, or putting away laundry....have I mentioned laundry? So I really enjoyed my time running, alone, listening to what I wanted on my iPod (not the Elmo theme song).

So now the question is, will I do another? Not so sure. We are going to San Diego in June with my family, and apparently there is another 1/2 marathon while we are there and I was so gung ho after I completed the ING, but I ran the other day and could barely do 2.2 miles! I thought to myself when I finished 2.2, how in the world did I do 13.1!?!? I guess time will tell. I don't enjoy running in the heat, so I am not sure how the training will go, but if it worked last time, I guess we'll figure out a way to do it again.